Social Media Health Network

Bringing the Social Media Revolution to Health Care

Share this:

Posted by Laura Offutt MD (@lauraoffutt) · Fri, Aug 8 at 8:54pm CDT

Laura Offutt MD - Patient/Caregiver Scholarship 2014

I am an Internal Medicine physician with experience in patient care, research and consulting. Currently, I spend my time using Social Media to reach teens about health topics in the place that they spend so much of their time. My experiences seeing adult patients, many of whom had medical problems which resulted from life-long behaviors starting in adolescence, served as a major inspiration for this project, as does being a mother who wants to make sure (like all parents) that my children make healthy choices to help insure a healthy life.

A year and a half ago, I decided to start a teen health blog (http://drlauraoffutt.blogspot.com). After figuring out how to blog, I branched into other platforms including Twitter, Tumblr, Pheed, Instagram as “Real Talk with Dr. Offutt”. The content is not monetized; there is no advertising, and there is no revenue. I cover all aspects of teen health from self-esteem, to alcohol poisoning, to the HPV vaccine, and so on. The learning curve is steep with regards to how to best adapt content to the different sites, as well as how to use the media to catch, and more importantly, hold teen eyes. I have been interacting with students informally and through an advisory group to learn what health topics interest them, and how to improve the way I am using social media for teen health education. I have been blessed by their (often painful) candor which has been instrumental in the continued development of this resource.